Creative Partnerships

Are you tired of negative messages about autism in the media? Especially video segments in which people talk about autistic people but never talk to them? If so try this.

Imagination on the Autistic Spectrum

At Rosehill Special School in Nottingham, pupils have developed levels of creative and imaginative skills not often associated with those on the autistic spectrum, and a Creative Partnership allows students to work on a variety of arts projects.

  • See autistic people being creative!
  • Hear autistic people speaking for themselves!
  • Listen to teachers who admit that their work is challenging the triad!

Artists supported by Creative partnerships come into the school with no preconceptions and challenge the pupils and the staff and it works. It works in my school as well. We are also part of the Creative Partnerships project. In my school the partnership is between students, many of whom are autistic, and professional musicians. Staff work alongside students and we perform together. We are not on Teachers TV … yet.

This is a 30 minute streaming video or a 70 meg download. So broadband users only I am afraid.

 

14 thoughts on “Creative Partnerships

  1. Amazing. Contrast that with “Autism Every Day.” I’ve never heard of anything like this in the states. Beautiful. I wonder if they’d hire me? :-)

  2. Wow!!! Amazing, lovely, wonderful!! I’m so happy I stumbled across your website and found my way to this video. I’m a drama therapist and the ASD kiddos I work with (both individually and in small groups) are incredibly imaginative. So nice to see creative work being done elsewhere. It’s so important too – offering alternative ways to communicate, express feelings, connect with others, and feel good about yourself. Thank you.

  3. Hi Kim,
    I am glad you dropped by. I have a question. When we work with mainstream kids we do music, dance, drama, art. When we work with the neurodiverse when does drama stop being drama and start being drama therapy?

  4. Hello Mike.
    Drama therapy (and the other creative arts therapies – music therapy, art therapy, dance/movement therapy) are distinct fields whereby the art form is systematically applied to positively impact psychological functioning. So, while art for arts sake *may* have a therapeutic benefit (and often does, for many people, no matter their background or make-up), creative arts therapy targets this “benefit” as its primary goal. I think it’s a matter of training and perspective, rather than who we are working with. I have a Masters degree in drama therapy and am a licensed creative arts therapist in my state. Before I studied drama therapy I taught drama in an inner city school, with kids who had a variety of difficulties (emotional, developmental, familial). I believed what I was doing turned into drama therapy, but I felt like I was flying by the seat of my pants, so I pursued further training. Not sure if I answered your question, hope so!
    Kim

  5. I’ve just finished a placement working with young boys on the autistic spectrum, teaching them drama. I was so interested I’m now writing my disserstion in this field was wondering if you have any suggestions for research other than this video. All help would be appriecated, thanks.

  6. I am too writing my dissertation on the effects of drama on the development and learning of young people on the autistic spectrum and would greatly appreciate any information that you may have on the subject. Thank you.

  7. This is a very interesting website. I am doing a dissertation on drama and its effects with children on the Autistic Spectrum disorder. I would be very grateful if you have anyiformation you could send to me many thanks for your time

  8. can someone help me i have trouble with my son since he was born, he was born at 36 weeks and was 7lb 5oz, i had to have a c-section because my placenta had broken up, and from day one it was hard to keep his concentration going for long, then when started infant school i was always getting called in to say that he was disrupting the class, then in primary school it got worst and sometimes had to be dragged from me by 3/4 teachers, he even knocked my front top set of teeth out because he said that the teachers wouldnt take him seriously, then nearly2 years ago he started senior school, he was only there a fortnight and i had to take him out, because he could cope with the changing classes.
    and was saying he was going to run away he was reading and writing for a 4/5 year and that was at 11 years old, I have been teaching him at home for 2 years and am finding it extremely hard, i would like to get him into a speacil school, but have been told that i need to leave him in a mainstream school for one year so that they can asses him, but if he wont stay in the school then, what am i supposed to do, can some one help me to get him the education that he needs.

Leave a Reply

